The Urban School Ruhr (USR) is a learning platform and a pedagogical experiment that investigates participative and artistic practices in urban space. USR is envisioned as an independent public institution and an assembly of individuals gathered together around a declared common interest.

As an educational framework, USR offers its students face-to-face encounters with a wide array of cultural and spatial producers. Using collaborative teaching models and diverse formats, it seeks to foster reciprocity and engagement in the process of learning.

The USR curriculum comprises field trips to European cities and an Open Programme that takes place in the cities of Witten and Hattingen, thus it engages with the present and the future of the Ruhr area. USR activities are conducted by faculty members, together with local and international tutors and associated educational partners.

USR is a complex educational program of the Open Raumlabor University developed in cooperation with Urbane Künste Ruhr (Artistic direction: Katja Aßmann).

USR is free and open for all.


The Class 2016 overlooks the Petite Ceinture, a neglected green space in the very centre in Paris, that still awaits for redevelopment.


Walking the GR2013 -the first metropolitan and artistic hiking trail in Marseille-  part of the official programme of the Capital of Culture in 2013. Three years later, we meet the artists to discuss the long term impact and transformational effects of such cultural, political and economical undertaking.

Understanding the kitchen as a site of dialogue and reciprocity, USR class 2016 cooks and eats together at R-Urban in the Parisian banlieue. During the dinner, invited speakers did a short presentation – in between courses- followed by an informal discussion.

USR meets dpr-Barcelona (Ethel Baraona Pohl and Cesar Reyes Najera) in Athens. Together we celebrated the official book launch of  Aristide Antonas ‘Archipelago of Protocols’ by doing a public reading on the stairs of Philopappou Hill – under the Greek Acropolis.

The class immersed on an intense discussion about Autonomy and its implications during the Autonoma Conference at the Onassis Cultural Centre in Athens.

Class time at the Arènes de Picasso – Noisy Le Grand. City as campus, public square as classroom.

 USR’s sporting ambitions provide both healthy recreation and a different way of looking at the city, for example atop Le Corbusier’s Cité Radieuse in Marseille.

X

USR

Die Urban School Ruhr (USR) ist eine Lernplattform und ein pädagogisches Experiment, das partizipative und künstlerische Praxen im urbanen Raum untersucht. Die USR wird als unabhängige öffentliche Institution angesehen: eine Versammlung von Menschen, die sich um ein gemeinsames Interesse gruppiert.

Als Bildungsrahmen bietet die USR unmittelbare Begegnungen mit einer breit gestreuten Anzahl von kulturellen und räumlichen Produzenten. Durch kooperative Unterrichtsmodelle und diverse Formate sollen Gegenseitigkeit sowie eine aktive Beteiligung am Lernprozess geschaffen werden.

Der USR Lehrplan umfasst Exkursionen, Vor-Ort-Workshops, Als-Ob-Installationen und Versammlungs-Seminare. Das Freie Programm wird in den Städten Witten und Hattingen durchgeführt, und beschäftigt sich mit der Gegenwart und der Zukunft des Ruhrgebiets. Die USR Aktivitäten werden vom USR Staff zusammen mit lokalen und internationalen Tutoren sowie verbundenen Bildungspartnern vermittelt.

Die USR ist ein komplexes Bildungsangebot der Open Raumlabor University in Kooperation mit Urbane Künste Ruhr (Künstlerische Leitung: Katja Aßmann).

Die USR ist kostenlos und für alle frei zugänglich.

 

1_paris_bridge

Die Klasse 2016 nimmt die ‚Petite Ceinture’, eine vernachlässigte Grünfläche in der Mitte von Paris, in Augenschein, welche immer noch auf eine Neuentwicklung wartet.

2_walk_group
Spazieren auf der GR2013 – der erste grossstädtische und artistische Wanderweg in Marseille – als Teil des offiziellen Programms der Kulturhauptstadt in 2013. 2016, drei Jahre später, treffen wir die Artisten, um über die langfristige Auswirkung und transformierenden Effekt von solch einem kulturellen, politischen und ökonomischen Vorhaben zu diskutieren.

3_cooking_r_urban
Aufgrund des Verständnisses der Küche als einen Ort des Dialogs und der Gegenseitigkeit, kochte und ass die USR Klasse 2016 zusammen bei R-Urban in der Pariser Banlieue. Während des Abendessens, hielten eingeladene Sprecher eine kleine Präsentation – zwischen den Gängen – gefolgt von einer informellen Diskussion.

4_Athens_book
USR trifft dpr-Barcelona (Ethel Baraona Pohl und Cesar Reyes Najera) in Athen. Zusammen feiern wir die offizielle Buchpräsentation von Aristide Antonas ‚Archipelago of Protocols’ indem eine öffentliche Lesung auf der Treppe des Philopappou Hügels – unter der griechischen Akropolis – gehalten wird.

6_onassis
Die Klasse taucht in eine intensive Diskussion über Autonomie und deren Auswirkung während der Autonoma Konferenz beim Onassis Cultural Centre in Athen ein.

5_class_time
Klassenzeit bei der Arènes de Picasso – Noisy Le Grand. Stadt als Campus, öffentlicher Platz als Klassenzimmer.

7_corbu_yoga
Die sportliche Ambitionen der USR bieten sowohl eine gesunde Erholung, als auch eine differenzierte Art die Stadt zu sehen, zum Beispiel obenauf Le Corbusier’s Cité Radieuse in Marseille.